Mindful Mondays – 08/04/14

Discovering Autumn, Inspiration, Mindful Mondays

First off, I would like to say HAPPY AUGUST! School is around the corner, as is my namesake season!

I have decided to start a 49 day meditation challenge!

I decided one the 49 day length because it would allow me to dedicate a week to each of the 7 Chakras. Every Mindful Monday will be my plan for the upcoming week, and my results and methods from the previous week. I will meditate and do yoga targeted at each specific Chakra.

Chakras are seven points that are believed to be the link between mind and the physical body. Kundalini yoga is the school of yoga that focuses on opening all the Chakras. Enlightenment is attained once energy is flowing all the way from the Root Chakra up to the Crown Chakra.

To start off, I will be balancing the Base, or Root, Chakra. The Root Chakra is located at the base of the spine, and governs acceptance, confidence, and security. Resentment and rigidity are two shadow emotions of the Root Chakra. A lotus with four petals is the symbol of the Root Chakra, while the element of the Root Chakra is Earth.

The Root Chakra deals with survival, but can become blocked by fears. When the Root Chakra is clear we feel confident and protected. However, when it is blocked we feel anxious.

I will be following this yoga asana from the Free People Blog

The mantra for the Root Chakra that I will use is simply, “LAM”.

 

 

 

 

 

 

image
Excuse the awkward no makeup, hair up, meditation pose. My face looks so uncomfortable, but I promise that I don’t always look like that.

2 thoughts on “Mindful Mondays – 08/04/14

Leave a Reply

